School-Based Mental Health (SBMH)

Nurturing Mental Wellness in Education Since 1998

Breaking Down Barriers to Mental Health Care in the Twin Cities Metro

Since 1998, People Incorporated has provided mental health care and created sustainable solutions for students and their families. It embraces the model of care that supports individuals “where they are,” seeking the highest level of autonomy and independence. Today, these services are one of the few offered in the Twin Cities metro that embeds therapists in four districts: Robbinsdale, Osseo, Anoka-Hennepin, Intermediate District 287, and Spero Academy (Charter School).

Therapy is provided onsite by a mental health professional, making it more accessible for families and reducing barriers that may prevent children and youth from receiving care.

  • Mental health screenings and assessments
  • Individual, group, and family therapy
  • Care coordination and referrals
  • Crisis intervention
  • Aggression
  • Anxiety
  • Depression
  • Isolation
  • Social skills
  • Stress
  • Trauma

Students enrolled in the following schools are eligible for our School-Based Mental Health Services.

Intermediate District 287

  • Ann Bremer Education Center
  • North Education Center

Robbinsdale School District

  • Armstrong High School
  • Cooper High School
  • Fair Crystal
  • Forest Elementary
  • Lakeview Elementary
  • Meadow Lake Elementary
  • Northport Elementary
  • Plymouth Middle School
  • Robbinsdale Middle School
  • Robbinsdale Spanish Immersion
  • Robbinsdale Transition Center
  • Sandburg Middle School
  • School of Engineering and Arts (SEA School)
  • Sonnysen Elementary

Anoka-Hennepin Schools

  • Andover Elementary
  • Blaine High 
  • Champlin Brooklyn Park Academy (CBPA)
  • Champlin Park High 
  • Coon Rapids Middle
  • Coon Rapids High School
  • Dayton Elementary
  • Eisenhower Elementary
  • Evergreen Park Elementary
  • Jackson Middle
  • Lincoln Elementary School for the Arts
  • Madison Elementary
  • Monroe Elementary
  • Northdale Middle
  • Oxbow Creek Elementary
  • River Trail Learning Center
  • Sandburg Regional High
  • Sand Creek Elementary
  • University Avenue Elementary
  • Wilson Elementary

Osseo Area Schools

  • Maple Grove Middle School
  • Maple Grove Senior High School
  • Park Center High School

Spero Academy 

  • Spero Minneapolis
Many of our therapists also use digital learning tools, like Google Classroom and Google Sites, to create a virtual space for students and families to learn about school-linked services and how they can provide support.


Complete this referral form or call the Central Access Contact Center at 651-774-0011, Monday through Friday, 7:00 am – 5:00 pm. Referrals can be made by parents, guardians, school staff, and community providers.

Learn More about School-Based Therapy

Message from Senator Tina Smith

School-Based Mental Health Services Newsletters

Our therapists create newsletters for the school community that provides mental health tips and helpful information.